Canon 50mm f1.4

Finally I got the lens I had my eyes on for quite a long time. I sold my Canon 50mm f1.8 (aka the plastic fantastic) almost a couple of months back and since then I’ve been shooting with Canon 85mm f1.8 which itself is the most underrated lens in my opinion but at times I did feel that the length of 85mm was bit too much for the indoor shots at my home.

I started missing my 50mm days when I could easily track Alina while she was busy with her home-work or doing interesting stuff such arts and crafts. Though buying a 35mm f1.4 is definitely on the wish-list and sooner or later it will be added to the kit but I needed a 50mm lens soon enough. I also considered Sigma 50mm f1.4 but based on some of the reviews I had to go back to the Canon option.

Some reviewers have claimed the Canon 50mm f1.4 to be one of the sharpest lens ever (cant reach the standard set by 60mm though)  but at the same time I also managed to find some reviews complaining about how the lens suddenly dies or simply stops focusing. However, since I’m not planning to keep this lens for more than an year (covered by warranty) so that shouldn’t be much of a problem.

The lens is indeed sharp at f2.8, sharper at f4 and insanely sharp at f8, however I wanted to test its capabilities wide open as being sharp at f2.8 is nothing magical in my opinion. This shot was taken with f1.6 and I must admit that thought its bit soft (as expected) I’m still quite happy with the results.

This lens is a keeper until 35mm finds its place in my bag.

This entry was published on November 9, 2012 at 10:13 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

